2nd年级

欢迎来到二年级

Ashlawn小学二年级的团队欢迎您到Ashlawn小学。

玛格丽特·埃勒斯女士
margaret.ehlers@apsva.us

我很荣幸成为Ashlawn社区的一员! 我在荷兰长大,然后移居美国上大学。 我曾在狄金森学院(Dickinson College)取得法语学士学位,然后在GWU取得环境健康硕士学位。 在环境领域工作了10年后,我和两个现在长大的孩子呆在家里,然后上了玛丽蒙特大学,在那里我获得了教育硕士学位。 从那以后,我一直在阿灵顿县任教。 我最近从一年级到二年级的老师毕业,很高兴成为二年级团队的一员! 我最喜欢的书是 鲁菲斯小姐。 像她一样,我喜欢旅行,在水边消磨时间并在我的花园里工作,我一直在这里寻找吸引鸟,蜜蜂和蝴蝶的更多方法。 我真正喜欢Ashlawn的一件事是,学生有机会在Reevesland花园中进行动手学习,探索和品尝。 在阿灵顿,我最喜欢的地方之一是波托马克Overlook,在那里你可以和我的朋友,家人以及我的黑人实验室杰克一起远足。


伊丽莎白·霍华德女士
beth.howard@apsva.us

在埃及,中国和美国长大,这使我对国际关系产生了早期兴趣。 在完成UCLA之后,这最初吸引了我进入华盛顿特区,特别是贸易领域。 在约翰·霍普金斯大学高级国际研究学院获得研究生学位时,我帮助监督了华盛顿特区学校的少数群体外展榜样联合国计划,这激发了我对教学的兴趣。 我现在从事该行业已有十年,进入我在Ashlawn的第五年。 在Ashlawn的日常教学中,显而易见的是,其老师在阅读,全球公民和适当娱乐方面的重视。 漫画的浮雕在我的课堂上很重要,因此我一直在追求那些大声笑的书。 Candice Fleming的著作继续发展到这种情况。 在学校外,我一直在寻找冒险和运动的借口。 为此,去年,我在安第斯山脉达到了16,000英尺以上的高度。


李Bri妮女士
brittany.lee@apsva.us

我叫Brittany Lee,这将是我14年的老师! 我最初来自俄亥俄州(去七叶树!),在那里我获得了幼儿教育学位。 我目前正在攻读科学,技术,工程和数学(STEM)的教育硕士学位,同时还在家里追逐2岁和3.5岁的孩子。 我的家庭大部分时间都花在我的业余时间上,但是我喜欢的一些爱好是阅读,远足和在花园里工作。 我最喜欢的儿童读物是哦! 苏斯博士(Sususs)撰写的《你去的地方!》(The Places Youll Go!)一书,我在年初开始读给学生们,以帮助我们计划我们的希望和梦想。 我绝对喜欢在阿什劳恩(Ashlawn)在这里教书,而我最大的喜悦就是创造了一个让孩子们感到连接,安全和受到重视的教室环境,使他们乐于尝试新事物,犯错误并庆祝成功。



贝基·佩蒂内利女士
rebecca.pettinelli@apsva.us

我在阿什劳恩庆祝我的第二十二年! 我拥有美国大学的教育学学士学位和乔治·梅森大学的教育学硕士学位。 我最喜欢的活动包括皮划艇,跑步,烹饪,阅读,写诗,最重要的是,与家人共度时光。 我最喜欢的儿童读物是玛丽·霍夫曼(Mary Hoffman)的《惊奇的恩典》。 我喜欢给学生们读这本书,因为这是一个鼓舞人心的故事,讲述了一个可爱的非洲裔美国女孩,她非常自信,并相信“只要她下定决心,她就能做任何事!” 我从来没有理由离开阿什劳恩。 尽管学校的规模扩大了两倍,但仍具有那种小社区的感觉。 我将其归功于所有关心和支持家庭。 另外,勤奋的员工也非常出色(他们是我的第二个家庭)! 除了学生以外,我最喜欢的教学内容之一就是多年的学生回来告诉我他们的成功。 然后我知道我已经完成了工作。


埃里克·索科洛夫先生
eric.sokolove@apsva.us

这是我十八岁的小学老师。 来到Ashlawn之前,我在阿灵顿的Carlin Springs和Glebe以及DC公立学校的Garfield小学教了18年级,2年级和3年级。 我出生于马萨诸塞州(去红袜!),然后搬到华盛顿特区,就读于乔治华盛顿大学。 我于4年获得弗吉尼亚大学的教育硕士学位,并于2003年获得乔治·梅森大学的学校管理证书。我的妻子(一名学校顾问)和我有两个孩子(2007岁和11岁),所以我们阅读很多儿童读物。 我最喜欢的是罗伯特·芒什(Robert Munsch)的《永远爱你》,因为它表明了父母对孩子的无尽爱心。 我最喜欢在阿什劳恩(Ashlawn)教书的事情是成为全球公民计划的一部分,因为整个阿什劳恩社区(学生,教师,家庭和邻居)都享有和平与社会正义的文化。


林赛·克罗宁女士
lindsay.cronin@apsva.us

我在阿灵顿长大,从高中就读于APS学校。 我在马里兰州弗雷德里克的胡德学院获得了基础和特殊教育双重认证的学士学位。 我喜欢游泳,烘烤和与她的金毛寻回犬(Golden Retrivever)一起散步。 我最喜欢的儿童读物是彩虹鱼,它激发了人们对海洋生物的兴趣。 我很喜欢成为Ashlawn的一员,因为我曾经是Ashlawn的学生。 现在,我是一名特殊教育老师。 在学校规模不断扩大的同时,我喜欢一些小型学校的传统,例如ASPAN走向终结无家可归者,谷物谷等等,并且保持不变。 我喜欢与新旧学校分开。 我很高兴看到我的学生每个学年都学习,成长和发展。 我很高兴在Ashlawn小学学习!


伊瓦尔·汉普顿
yvaal.hampton@apsva.us

我很高兴成为Ashlawn家族的一员! 我从自由大学获得了特殊教育的硕士学位,这是我15年的教学。 我的丈夫,三个孩子和我于2018年2019月从日本岩国转移到阿灵顿。尽管,我确实很想念我最喜欢的日本正宗寿司和拉面,但我们很高兴能在美国定居,然后加入阿什劳恩一家。 XNUMX年XNUMX月,我在日本国防部的一所学校担任特殊教育老师。 我还在弗吉尼亚海滩学校系统内任教多年,并担任科罗拉多斯普林斯市STARBASE学院国防部计划的主任。 我最喜欢的儿童读物之一是《霍顿听过谁》,因为它教导我们应该庆祝我们之间的差异。 这种意识形态也是为什么我喜欢在Ashlawn Elementary的教学的原因,在那里,庆祝我们的学生和员工的独特性是我们使命的一部分。


苏珊·德马蒂斯女士
susan.dematties@apsva.us

成为Ashlawn社区的一员,我感到非常高兴和自豪! 我已经在各种特殊教育的基础教室环境中教授了20多年-现在是我在Ashlawn的第五年,在那里我是小学自学特殊教育老师。 我在纽约长大,与家人在芝加哥住了六年,现在住在弗吉尼亚州。 我拥有儿童早期教育硕士学位和基础教育与特殊教育双重学士学位,并且曾在纽约,马里兰州和弗吉尼亚州任教。 不在Ashlawn时,我喜欢旅行,阅读和与家人共度时光。 我的两个孩子是曲棍球运动员-在秋天,冬天和初春的几个月中,有时需要花费大量的旅行和欢呼时间! 在周末的任何时间点,您都可能会在华盛顿特区的几个溜冰场中找到我,与我女儿的团队一起向北旅行,或者为我最喜欢的曲棍球队之一加油–芝加哥黑鹰队或华盛顿首都队。 我在Ashlawn的教学中最喜欢的部分是与学生一起工作。 我们努力实现个人目标,我们都为成功所带来的喜悦感到高兴。 我也很幸运能被一支非常有才华,敬业且勤奋的专业团队所包围! 去阿什劳恩老鹰! 去黑鹰! 加盖!


有关您的学生如何学习乘法和除法概念的信息:Graham Fletcher制作了一个短片,演示了学生如何从概念上学习乘法和除法。 转到进度视频链接: https://gfletchy.com/progression-videos/

2nd Grade

Welcome to Second Grade

2nd Grade Team

The Ashlawn Second Grade team would like to welcome you to Ashlawn Elementary School.

Ms. Margaret Ehlers
margaret.ehlers@apsva.us

I feel so privileged to be a part of the Ashlawn community!  I grew up in the Netherlands and moved to the US for college.  I attended Dickinson College for a BA in French and then GWU for an MS in Environmental Health.  After working for 10 years in the environmental field, I stayed home with my two now-grown up kids and then attended to Marymount University, where I received my Master of Education.  I have been teaching in Arlington County ever since. I recently graduated from being a first to a second grade teacher and am so excited to be part of the second grade team!  My favorite book is Miss Rumphius.  Like her, I love to travel, spend time by the water, and work in my garden, where I’m always looking for more ways to attract birds, bees, and butterflies. One thing I really love about Ashlawn is that students have an opportunity for hands-on learning, exploration, and tasting in the Reevesland gardens. One of my favorite places in Arlington is Potomac Overlook, where you can find me hiking with my friends, my family, and my black lab, Jack.


Ms. Elizabeth Howard
beth.howard@apsva.us

Growing up in Egypt, China, and the States imparted an early interest for me in international relations. This initially drew me to the Washington, D.C. area, specifically the trade arena, after finishing UCLA. When earning my graduate degree at Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, I helped oversee the Minority Outreach Model U.N. Program in D.C. schools awakening my interest in teaching. I am now a decade into the profession and entering my fifth year at Ashlawn. Evident in Ashlawn’s daily instruction is the premium its teachers place on reading, global citizenship and the right dose of fun. Comic relief is important in my class, so I am in constant pursuit of books that are laugh-out-loud funny. Candice Fleming’s books continue to rise to this occasion. Outside of school, I am always on the search for an adventure and excuse to exercise. To this end, last year, I reached an altitude above 16,000 feet in the Andes.


Ms. Brittany Lee
brittany.lee@apsva.us

My name is Brittany Lee and this will be my 14th year as a teacher!  I am originally from Ohio (go Buckeyes!) where I received my degree in Early Childhood Education.  I am currently pursuing my Masters of Education in Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM) while also chasing after my 2 and 3.5 year old children at home.   My family takes up most of my free time, but some hobbies that I enjoy are reading, hiking, and working in the garden.  My favorite children’s book is Oh! The Places You’ll Go!, by Dr. Seuss—which I read to students at the beginning of the year to help us plan our hopes and dreams.   I absolutely love teaching here at Ashlawn and my biggest joy is creating a classroom environment where children feel connected, safe, and valued so that they are open to try new things, make mistakes, and celebrate success.


Ms. Tiffany Moore
tiffany.moore2@apsva.us

I am so excited to be coming back to Ashlawn this year for my first full year as a teacher. Last December, I graduated from the University of Virginia with a Master’s of Elementary Education. I am originally from Silver Spring, Maryland where I grew up with my parents and older brother. I am an avid lover of dance and marched in the Cavalier Marching Band Color Guard for 2 years while at the University. My favorite children’s book is the Rainbow Fish because it teaches a story of friendship and what it truly means to be happy. I am extremely grateful to be a part of the Ashlawn family and am looking forward to an amazing year filled with new adventures!


Ms. Becky Pettinelli
rebecca.pettinelli@apsva.us

I’m celebrating my twenty-second year here at Ashlawn! I have a bachelors in Education from The American University and a masters in Education from George Mason University. My favorite activities include kayaking, running, cooking, reading, writing poetry, and most of all, spending time with my family. My favorite children’s book is Amazing Grace by Mary Hoffman. I love reading this book to my students because it’s an inspiring story about an adorable African American girl who is very confident and believes “she can do anything if she puts her mind to it!” I’ve never had a reason to leave Ashlawn. Although the school has tripled in size, it still has that small community feel. I attribute that to all the caring and supportive families.  Also, the hardworking staff has been exceptional, (they are my second family)!  Besides the students, one of my most favorite things about teaching is when students over the years come back to tell me of their successes. Then I know I’ve done my job.


Mr. Eric Sokolove
eric.sokolove@apsva.us

This is my 18th year as an elementary school teacher. Before coming to Ashlawn, I taught 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grade at Carlin Springs and Glebe in Arlington, as well as Garfield Elementary School in D.C. Public Schools.  I was born in Massachusetts (go Red Sox!) and moved to the DC area to attend college at The George Washington University.  I earned a Master’s degree in Education at the University of Virginia in 2003 and a certificate in School Administration from George Mason University in 2007. My wife (a school counselor) and I have two children (ages 11 and 13), so we’ve read LOTS of children’s books. My favorite is “Love You Forever” by Robert Munsch because it shows the unending love of a parent for a child. My favorite thing about teaching at Ashlawn is being a part of the Global Citizens Project because the whole Ashlawn community (students, teachers, families, and neighbors) all share in the culture of peace and social justice.


Ms. Lindsay Cronin
lindsay.cronin@apsva.us

I grew up in Arlington and attended APS schools through high school. I received my Bachelor’s degree in Elementary and Special Education Dual Certification at Hood College located in Frederick, Maryland. I enjoy swimming, baking, and going on long walks with her Golden Retrivever. My favorite children’s book growing up was Rainbow Fish, which sparked an interest in sea creatures. I enjoy being a part of Ashlawn, as I was a former Ashlawn student. Now, I am a Special Education Teacher. While the school has grown in size, I enjoy that several of the small school traditions such as the ASPAN Walk to End Homelessness, Cereal Mountain, and much more, have stayed the same. I enjoy being apart of old and new school traditions.  I enjoy seeing my students learn, grow, and develop each school year. I am thrilled to be at Ashlawn Elementary!


Yvaal Hampton
yvaal.hampton@apsva.us

I am ecstatic to be a part of the Ashlawn family!  I earned a Masters degree in Special Education from Liberty University and this is my 15th year teaching.  My husband, three children, and I relocated to Arlington from Iwakuni, Japan in December 2018.  Although, I do miss my favorite authentic sushi and ramen from Japan, we are super excited to settle back in the U.S. Prior to joining the Ashlawn family in February 2019, I was a Special Education Teacher in Japan at a Department of Defense school.  I also taught within the Virginia Beach School system for many years and served as the Director of a Department of Defense program, STARBASE Academy in Colorado Springs.    One of my favorite children’s books is Horton Hears A Who because it teaches that our differences should be celebrated.  This ideology is also why I love teaching at Ashlawn Elementary, where celebrating the uniqueness of our students and staff is part of our mission.


Ms. Susan DeMatties
susan.dematties@apsva.us

I am so happy and proud to be a member of the Ashlawn community!  I have taught in a wide range of special education elementary classroom settings for over 20 years – now in my fifth year here at Ashlawn, where I am the Primary Self-Contained Special Education teacher.  I grew up in New York, lived with my family in Chicago for six years, and now live in Virginia.  I have a MS in Early Childhood Education and a dual BS in Elementary Education and Special Education and have taught in New York, Maryland, and Virginia.  When not at Ashlawn, I love to travel, read, and spend time with my family.  Two of my children are hockey players – which sometimes takes up quite a bit of travel and cheering time during the fall, winter, and early spring months!  At any given point in time during the weekend, you may very well find me at one of the few rinks in the DC area, traveling north with my daughter’s team, or cheering on one of my other favorite hockey teams – Chicago Blackhawks or Washington Capitals.  My favorite part of teaching at Ashlawn is working with my students.  We work hard to accomplish individual objectives and we all enjoy celebrating in the joy of our successes.  I also feel lucky to be surrounded by an incredibly talented, dedicated, and hard-working team of professionals!   GO Ashlawn Eagles!  GO Blackhawks! GO Caps!


For information on how your student is learning the concepts of multiplication and division: Graham Fletcher has created a short video that demonstrates how students conceptually learn Multiplication and Division. Go to progression video links: https://gfletchy.com/progression-videos/