天才教练

阿什劳恩的天才教练

教练

Donna Bertch女士(右)
donna.bertch@apsva.us

我在费尔法克斯县(Fairfax County)任教15年,并在海外担任外国服务家庭的母亲后,我很高兴能在阿什劳恩(Ashlawn)的阿灵顿(Arlington)待了三年,与老师,学生和我们的行政部门一起工作,支持我们的天才学习者。 我最初来自加利福尼亚,就读于洛杉矶的西方学院。 在利比里亚的和平军团服役后,我获得了约翰·霍普金斯大学的公共卫生硕士学位,并通过乔治·梅森获得了弗吉尼亚州认可的资优教育证书。 我和我的丈夫住在一个非常友好的社区,住在福尔斯彻奇(Falls Church),每当他们在城里时,我的三个成年子女都会来拜访我! 散步,远足,烹饪,阅读(通常是为我20岁的读书俱乐部!)和旅行是我的乐趣! 我最喜欢的儿童读物是 山遇月球的地方 林恩(Grace Lin).


资优服务

阿灵顿公立学校致力于最大程度地发挥所有学生的优势和潜力,使他们成为自信,全面,负责任和富有成效的公民。 阿灵顿公立学校相信每个人都有优点,因此认识到学校人口中的某些学习者具有独特的能力,兴趣,需求和成就潜力。 资优学生需要机会进行抽象思考,以不同的速度和复杂程度进行工作以及独立从事任务。 此外,有资格获得优等服务的学生需要与其他具有类似能力的人一起学习的机会,以及发展社交情感的机会。 资优服务是通过符合校董会和州目标的校内和县级活动实施的。 校内服务通过以下方式提供:

  • 根据一种协作资源模型,在该模型中,课堂老师与资源老师一起为资优学生工作,以在普通教育课堂中为资优学生开发和呈现适当的差异化学习体验
  • 在通识教育教室中,将确定的学生分组(至少5至8个),并根据持续的数据通过各种灵活的分组
  • 由经过特殊培训的老师针对天才学生的教学需求和课程设置
  • 通过与普通教育课程中的概念有所区别或扩展的课程,并在适当时通过加速和扩展的机会

要详细了解阿灵顿公立学校的优才计划,请浏览 优优服务区网站页面.

Gifted Coach

Ashlawn’s Gifted Coach

Donna BertschMs. Donna Bertch
donna.bertch@apsva.us

After teaching in Fairfax County for 15 years, and overseas for a few more as the mom in a foreign service family, I’m so pleased to be here for a third year in Arlington at Ashlawn working with teachers, students, and our administration to support our gifted learners.  I am originally from California and attended Occidental College in Los Angeles.  After serving in the Peace Corps in Liberia, I earned my Master’s Degree in Public Health from Johns Hopkins and my teaching credential with a Virginia State Endorsement for Gifted Education through George Mason.  I live in Falls Church with my husband in a very friendly neighborhood, and enjoy visits from my three adult children whenever they are in town! Walking, hiking, cooking, reading (usually for my book club of 20 years!) and travel are my idea of fun!  My favorite children’s book is Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin.


Gifted Services

Arlington Public Schools is dedicated to maximizing the strengths and potential of all students so they may become self-confident, well-rounded, responsible and productive citizens. Believing that each and every individual has merit, Arlington Public Schools recognizes that certain learners within the school population have unique abilities, interests, needs, and potential for accomplishment. Gifted students need opportunities to think abstractly, work at various rates and levels of complexity, and pursue tasks independently. In addition, students eligible for gifted services need opportunities to learn with others of like abilities, as well as opportunities to develop socio-emotional. Gifted services are implemented through school-based and countywide activities, which comply with School Board and State objectives.  School-based services are delivered in the following ways:

  • According to a collaborative resource model in which the classroom teacher works with the resource teacher for the gifted to develop and present appropriately differentiated learning experiences for gifted students within the general education classroom
  • In the general education classroom setting with identified students cluster-grouped (minimum of 5 – 8) and through a variety of flexible groupings based on ongoing data
  • With teachers who are specifically trained in instructional needs of and curriculum written for gifted students
  • Through curricula which are differentiated or extended from concepts in the general education curriculum, and when appropriate, through opportunities for acceleration and extension

To learn more about the gifted program in Arlington Public Schools please explore the Gifted Services district site page.