1st级

欢迎来到一年级

阿什劳恩一年级团队很欢迎您来到阿什劳恩小学。

苏珊娜·布斯比女士
suzanne.boothby@apsva.us

我很高兴成为Ashlawn的一年级老师。 我很幸运能够拥有我如此热爱的职业,并能在如此出色的学校学习。 这将是我四年级的一年级和我七年级的教学。 认识您的孩子并看着他们在一年级的这种飞跃发展是一件了不起的礼物。 一年级是巨大的增长年。 他们中不仅有许多人在学习阅读方法,而且还在学习热爱阅读并成为终生读者。 今年我们将分享许多新书和旧收藏。 我们将为阅读而高兴,并为学习而读书。 一年级学生是一个充满好奇和热情的团体。 当我不工作时,我会在我的家乡缅因州度过夏天(去爱国者队和红袜队!),与家人和朋友划船,骑自行车,在海滩度过时光并阅读! 我也喜欢一周两天滑雪和健身课。 目前,我也在追求UVA的资优教育认证。 我的丈夫克莱和我有4个孩子:威尔(在UNH读一年级),马修(在约克镇读7年级)和卡罗琳(在威廉斯堡读3年级)。


Mignon Dwyer女士
mignon.dwyer@apsva.us

我在俄亥俄州长大,并在凯斯西储大学和俄亥俄州立大学就读本科课程,然后移居纽约,并从纽约大学获得硕士学位。 我以前曾在纽约,阿灵顿和迪拜任教。 我喜欢旅行,阅读,做饭,看电影,远足,探索博物馆和去海滩。 我有一长串最喜欢的孩子的书,包括长颈鹿不能跳舞,三只小猪的真实故事,堕落之后,警官扣和格洛里亚,蜡笔退出的那一天,罗西·里维尔,工程师和科纳夫·兔子,仅举几例。 我最喜欢的教学部分是帮助孩子们反思并注意到他们已经学到了很多东西,并且成长了很多。


Ellen Hemstreet女士

ellen.hemstreet@apsva.us

成为老师最大的乐趣之一就是通过孩子的眼睛看世界。 我喜欢教孩子们如何阅读和观看灯泡的状态! 在我的课堂上,我努力建立一个受人尊重和关爱的社区,目标是教育孩子们善良,好奇,创新,尊重,公正,诚实和成为自己。 我最喜欢的儿童读物是露丝·样式·甘内特的《我的父亲的龙》。 这本书充满了冒险和创造力。 主人公具有许多令人钦佩的特质。 他很勇敢,善良,友好,富有想象力,机智和聪明。 我正在进入教学的23年级。 这是我在阿什劳恩的四年级,我喜欢在阿什劳恩社区教书! 这是一个特别的地方。 我拥有波士顿学院的基础教育学士学位和UVA的教育社会基础硕士学位。 我最喜欢的活动包括与家人和朋友共度时光,跑步,骑自行车,远足,烹饪,阅读和旅行。


玛丽亚·莫拉莱斯女士


Dorothy McIntire女士
dorothy.mcintire@apsva.us
在过去的20年中,我在各种教室和学校环境中任教。 我有学校管理员,教室老师,英语学习老师的经验,我还曾与有特殊需要的孩子一起工作。 我在课程和教学课程中获得了医学博士学位,重点是小学阶段,并且在英语语言学习者,幼儿特殊教育和小学教育方面获得了三重证书。 像我的学生一样,我喜欢学习和娱乐! 在业余时间,我可以阅读非小说类书籍,参加我最喜欢的舞蹈课并与家人共度时光。 我有三本最喜欢的儿童读物,梦露·叶(Monro Leaf)撰写的《费迪南德的故事》(The Story of Ferdinand),传达的信息是,无论面对什么挑战,我们都应该忠于自己,苏斯博士撰写的《一条鱼,两条鱼,红色鱼,蓝色鱼》因为每当我尝试阅读那些绕口令和BJ Novak的“没有图片的书”时,它都会使我发笑,因为它总是使我的孩子和我的学生发笑。 我很高兴成为Ashlawn社区的一员,并期待帮助我们的Ashlawn Eagles SOAR!


艾米·斯拉文女士

amy.slavin@apsva.us

我最初来自加利福尼亚北部,大学毕业后就搬到东部去国会山工作。 不久,我就像母亲和祖母一样进入了教学界! 我成为纽约市的教职人员,然后很幸运在2003年找到了我的下一个使用APS的教学之家。我与丈夫,女儿和一条粗大的狗一起住在亚历山大。 我喜欢阅读,园艺和与家人一起探索该地区。 我喜欢加入Ashlawn社区和四年级团队!


海梅·泰勒女士


有关您的学生如何学习乘法和除法概念的信息:Graham Fletcher制作了一个短片,演示了学生如何从概念上学习乘法和除法。 转到进度视频链接: https://gfletchy.com/progression-videos/

1st Grade

Welcome to First Grade

The Ashlawn First Grade team would like to welcome you to Ashlawn Elementary School.1st Grade Team

Ms. Suzanne Boothby
suzanne.boothby@apsva.us

I am thrilled to be a first grade teacher at Ashlawn.  I feel so lucky to have a career that I love so much and to be at such a wonderful school.  This will be my 4th year in first grade and my 7th year teaching.  Getting to know your children and watching them grow by such leaps and bounds in first grade is an amazing gift.  First grade is a huge year of growth.  Not only are many of them learning how to read, but they are also learning to love reading and to become life-long readers.  We will share so many new books and old favorites this year.  We will read for pleasure and read to learn.  First graders are a curious and passionate group.  When I am not working, I spend summers in my home state of Maine (Go Patriots and Red Sox!) with family and friends boating, biking, spending time at the beach and reading!  I also love to ski and teach a fitness class a couple of days a week.  Currently, I am also pursuing at certification in gifted education at UVA.  My husband Clay and I have 3 children: Will (a freshman at UNH), Matthew (10th grade at Yorktown) and Caroline (8th grade at Williamsburg.)


Ms. Mignon Dwyer
mignon.dwyer@apsva.us

I grew up in Ohio and attended both Case Western Reserve University and The Ohio State University for her undergrad work, then moved to New York and received her master’s degree from New York University.  I have previously taught in New York City, Arlington, and Dubai. I love to travel, read, cook, watch movies, hike, explore museums, and go to the beach. I have a lengthy list of favorite kids’ books, including Giraffes Can’t Dance, The True Story of the Three Little Pigs, After the Fall, Officer Buckle and Gloria, The Day the Crayons Quit, Rosie Revere, Engineer, and Knuffle Bunny, to name just a few.  My favorite part of teaching is helping kids to reflect and notice that they have learned and grown so much.


Ms. Halvorson
carol.halvorson@apsva.us

I am so excited to be apart of the first grade team at Ashlawn! I have taught for over fifteen years, sometimes taking time off while my Navy family was growing, deploying or relocating. We are lucky to have lived in Virginia, Rhode Island, Florida, California and Japan before making Arlington our home. The thing that excites me most about first grade is the opportunity to spread my passion for reading with my new school family.  I love to read aloud, and I have so many favorite books that I can’t wait to share! I’m a big fan of The Gruffalo, The Girl Who Never Made Mistakes, and The Lines on on Nana’s Face. When I’m not at Ashlawn, I like to spend my time walking our golden retriever, Ava, or planning our next visit with our daughter in Ithaca, NY or our sons in San Francisco.


Ms. Ellen Hemstreet
ellen.hemstreet@apsva.us

One of the greatest joys of being a teacher is seeing the world through the eyes of a child.  I love to teach children how to read and watch that lightbulb go on!  In my classroom, I strive to foster a respectful and caring community with the goal of teaching children to be kind, be curious, be creative, be respectful, be fair, be honest and be yourself. My favorite children’s book is My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Styles Gannett. The book is full of adventure and creativity. The main character has so many admirable traits; he is brave, kind, friendly, imaginative, resourceful and smart. I am entering my 23rd year of teaching.  This is my 4th year at Ashlawn and I love teaching in the Ashlawn community!  It is a special place to be. I have a BA in Elementary Education from Boston College and a Masters in the Social Foundations of Education from UVA.  My favorite activities include spending time with my family and friends, running, biking, hiking, cooking, reading, and traveling.


Ms. Dorothy McIntire
dorothy.mcintire@apsva.us
I have taught in a variety of classroom and school settings for the past 20 years. I have experience as a school administrator, a classroom teacher, a teacher of English language learners and I have also worked with children with special needs. I have my MEd in Curriculum and Instruction with a focus on the primary years and a triple licensure in teaching English language learners, early childhood special education, and primary education. Like my students, I love to learn and have fun! In my free time, I can be found reading non-fiction books, taking my favorite dance class and spending time with my family. I have three favorite children’s books, “The Story of Ferdinand” by Monro Leaf for the message that we should stay true to ourselves no matter what challenges we face, “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish” by Dr. Seuss because it makes me laugh every time I try to read those tongue twisters and “The Book with No Pictures” by B. J. Novak because it always makes my children and my students laugh. I am thrilled to be a part of the Ashlawn community and look forward to helping our Ashlawn Eagles SOAR!


Ms. Wendy Ellison
wendy.ellison@apsva.us

I grew up in Massachusetts and attended Simmons College in Boston for my undergrad work then, went on to Boston College in Boston to receive my master’s degree. I previously taught at Patrick Henry Elementary School in Arlington. I love to travel, read, go to the movie theater, go to live plays, jazz concerts and go to the beach. I have a lengthy list of kids’ books, including The Snowy Day, Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters, Black is brown is tan, The First Strawberries, The Red Comb, The Talking Eggs, Hairs Pelitos, What’s So Funny, Ketu?, Make Way For Ducklings, Mirandy and Brother Wind, and Shoes Like Miss Alice’s to name a few. My favorite part of teaching is helping students express their math thinking by using their math work to share with others how they solve math problems.


For information on how your student is learning the concepts of multiplication and division: Graham Fletcher has created a short video that demonstrates how students conceptually learn Multiplication and Division. Go to progression video links: https://gfletchy.com/progression-videos/